KEWEENAW COUNTY ROAD COMMISSION

Minutes

January 14, 2010

The regular monthly meeting of the Board of County Road Commissioners was held at their offices in Mohawk, Michigan on January 14, 2010.

Present: Commissioners Bjorn, McEvers and Muljo

Guest: Bruce Leblanc

The meeting was called to order at 5:30 P.M.

The minutes of the December 10, 2009 regular meeting were read and approved as read on a motion by Commissioner McEvers and support from Commissioner Muljo.

Vouchers #28209, #28210 and Master Vendor Voucher #1-2010 in the total amount of \$195,755.28 were audited by the Commissioners and the Master Vendor Vouchers was signed. Commissioner McEvers moved to pay the bills. Commissioner Muljo supported the motion. The motion carried.

The financial statement was read, discussed and approved on a motion by Commissioner McEvers and support from Commissioner Muljo.

Mr. Leblanc addressed the Board in regard to the winter maintenance plowing schedule. It has been noted that the north shore plow on M-26 is arriving approximately 1 hour later than previous years. The Board discussed the matter, noted that the plow route had been altered slightly, and determined the plow should start 1 hour earlier, in order to provide the same service as in previous years. This adjustment has already been made for the US-41 scenic route and LacLaBelle plow runs for the Grant Township school bus.

Commissioner McEvers moved to adopt a Resolution authorizing the transfer of up to 30% of the Primary Fund to the Local Fund to made in accordance with section 12 (9) of Act 51, P.A. of 1951, as amended. Commissioner Muljo supported the motion. The motion carried.

Act 51 Road Certification was discussed. Commissioner McEvers moved to approve the certified mileage and to authorize the Chairman to sign the certification. Commissioner Muljo supported the motion. The motion carried.

The Forest Road Projects were discussed by the Board. Commissioner McEvers moved to approve the Gay-LacLaBelle Road, Gratiot River Road, Mohawk-Gay Road, Brockway Mountain Drive and Eagle Harbor Shortcut as Forest Road Projects for 2010. Commissioner Muljo supported the motion. The motion carried.

The Board discussed the Weighmaster Program for 2010. The Board agreed to join Houghton and Ontonagon Counties for the same program as in previous years.

Keweenaw County Road Commission Minutes-January 14, 2010 Page 2

The Engineer informed the Board of the Cliff Mine Site Stamp Sand Removal, Creek Restoration and Crossing Project. The NRCS, MDEQ and Houghton Keweenaw Conservation District project will include removing stamp sand, wetland construction, stream improvements and bridge construction. A conceptual design will be started this month. The Board's main concern is that the new creek crossing be placed in an area that will allow KCRC access to the mine rock. The Engineer will attend the preliminary planning and design meetings involving the project.

The Engineer informed the Board of Congressman Stupak's transportation project request form due on February 19, 2010. These will most likely be projects that are funded by the next federal transportation bill. The Engineer will develop a list of projects for the Board's review and approval at the February meeting.

The Engineer informed the Board that a second stimulus package with a similar amount of transportation funding is being discussed by Congress. The time frame and exact amount is not known yet. A local agency log job will be prepared for a continuation of the Eagle Harbor Road project. This type of project will allow KCRC to access the funds in a timely fashion. The FHWA is expected to require an application to obligation turnaround time for this second round of stimulus funding to be 90 days versus 180 days the first time. This is also the next project currently on our Transportation Improvement Plan for Federal Funding.

The UP Road Builders Association winter meeting is scheduled for February 11th and 12th in Marquette. Plans were made to attend.

Other items of routine business were discussed.

The meeting adjourned at 7:05 P.M.

Eric Bjorn, Chairman

Gregg M. Patrick, Engineer