OFFICIAL PROCEEDINGS KEWEENAW COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

January 16, 2014

The regular monthly meeting of the Keweenaw County Board of Commissioners held January 15, 2014, 6:30 p.m. at the Courthouse, Eagle River, MI, opened with the pledge of allegiance.

Commissioners present: Ray Chase, Randy Eckloff, Don Piche, Del Rajala, Frank Stubenrauch.

The organizational meeting was called to order by the Clerk. Clerk opened the floor for nominations for a chairman. Eckloff nominated Piche for chairman and Chase supported. Clerk asked for further nominations and there being none, motion by Eckloff supported by Chase to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Piche as Chair for 2014. Chair Piche took over leading the meeting.

Chairman Piche opened the floor for nominations for vice chairman. Chase nominated Eckloff for vice chair which was seconded by Rajala. Piche asked for further nominations and there being no further nominations, motion by Rajala supported by Chase to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Eckloff as Vice Chairman for 2014.

Motion by Chase seconded by Rajala and unanimously carried to hold official board meetings on the third Wednesday of each month at 6:30 p.m. at the Courthouse in Eagle River.

Chairman Piche appointed commissioners to the same committees as the previous year:

Economic Development	Piche	Historic Hiway/Byway	Stubenrauch
Building & Grounds	Piche	911 Committee	Rajala
Human Services	Piche	MSU Extension	Piche
Manpower Consortium	Eckloff/Stubenrauch	KEDA	Piche
Health Department	Stubenrauch/Rajala	Head Start	Rajala
UP Resource Conservation	Rajala	Finance/Budget	Piche
US Port Authority	None-Ron Lahti	Road Commission	Piche
UPCAP	Stubenrauch	TriCounty Corrections	Rajala
Planning Commission	Chase	WUPPDR	Stubenrauch/Chase
Substance Abuse	Eckloff	Mental Health	Eckloff
Community Action	Stubenrauch	Recreation Bd-mileage	Rajala
Keweenaw Mountain Lodge	Chase	Resolutions	Full Board
Freedom of Information	Eckloff	UP Fair Authority	Langdon
Veterans Affairs	Rajala	Grounds/Grounds Care	Piche
Building Codes	Eckloff	Equalization	Stubenrauch
Liaison to Sheriff Dept	Rajala	Brownfield	Chase

Motion by Eckloff supported by Chase to amend the Keweenaw County Board of Commissioner By-laws, removing Rule #7 which states the following: "No member of the Board of Commissioners shall be elected for more than two consecutive one-year terms to the position of Chairman of the County Board of Commissioners". Board polled: Ayes: Eckloff, Stubenrauch, Chase, Rajala, Piche. Nayes: None. Motion carried.

Motion by Stubenrauch supported by Eckloff and unanimously carried to designate the following as depositories for County funds: River Valley, Range, Superior National and First Merit Banks.

Motion by Chase supported by Rajala and unanimously carried to accept the agenda as printed.

Motion by Rajala supported by Chase and unanimously carried to accept the minutes as presented from the December 18, 2013 regular monthly board meeting and the January 9, 2014 special meeting.

The Treasurer, Sheriff and Mine Inspector reports were received.

Time was allowed for public comment.

Motion by Eckloff supported by Rajala to pay the approved and audited bills in the following amounts; General Fund=\$152,387.71 Construction Codes Fund=\$0 911 Fund=\$4,871.37 Law Library=\$466.37 Child Care Fund=\$0 County Veterans Trust Fund=\$0 Register of Deeds Automation Fund=\$0. Board polled. Ayes: Eckloff, Stubenrauch, Chase, Rajala, Piche. Nayes: None. Motion carried.

The Board opened sealed bids on a 2000 Ski-Doo Tundra snowmobile. The bids were as follows:

Jason Rota	1057.00	Robert Rinne	1127.59	John Parsons	1350.00
Raymond Laitila	2051.00	Jason Mattila	1500.00	Kevin Liimatta	1625.00
Victor Tanskanen	2857.67	Nicki Frantti	1865.61	Jessie Sohlden	1450.00
Phil Sladek	1000.00	Terrence Kahkonen	2210.00	Dennis Keranen	2378.87
David Mitchell	1475.55	David Beauchamp	755.00	Stanely Randell	2153.00

Joseph Watson	1667.00	Greg Kingstrom	1055.55	Kenneth Hyrkas	1322.00			
Jim Baker	1400.00	David Frantti	1550.50	Cleve Heikkila	1857.00			
Debra Lajimodiere	1001.00	Joleen Staricha	627.52	Tim Gasperich	1051.00			
Motion by Rajala supported by Chase and unanimously carried to accept the highest bid from Victor Tanskanen								
of 2857.67 and if that were to fall through, to accept the second highest bid.								
Time was allowed for public comment.								
There being no further business motion by Rajala to adjourn at 7:05 p.m. Meeting adjourned sine die.								
Donald Piche, Chairr	nan		Julie A. Carls	son, Clerk				